-Видео

Семья #3
Смотрели: 105 (3)

 -Фотоальбом

Фотоальбом закрыт для неавторизованных. Зарегистрироваться!

 -Статистика

Статистика LiveInternet.ru: показано количество хитов и посетителей
Создан: 23.05.2008
Записей: 222
Комментариев: 2141
Написано: 4649


Turkey Day

Пятница, 27 Ноября 2009 г. 04:24 + в цитатник
I officially declare Thanksgiving to be my most hated day of the year. This holiday, which is traditionally accompanied by mass murdering of poor turkeys, a very obsessive consumption of various fattening delights -- such as stuffing, gravy, cranberry sauce -- and family get-togethers, is no more than just another reminder of how far away my own family is. Every single person I know is spending this day with his or her relatives, the downtown has been dead starting from 3 pm when all the stores were shut down, and practically every house in our quiet suburbs has its dining room lights on. While people around me have been busy doing grocery shopping, cooking, and chatting away at the holiday table, I, for lack of better alternatives, have spent most of this day watching "House" re-runs. Oh, well, since I'm not planning to start a family of my own in near future, there is nothing much I can do about the situation; therefore, I'll just try to do my best to ignore the whole thing. Fortunately, there are only two family holidays in a year, so it shouldn't be difficult.

Nevertheless, following a pretty corny Thanksgiving tradition, as a true American in training, I have to figure out what I'm thankful for this year. Perhaps the most important and obvious thing I should be grateful for is being given an opportunity to see my mom for the first time in almost three years. Also, this year I have finally come to a conclusion of what my career aspirations are, which is a wonderful thing taking into consideration that I've spent all the years since finishing school having no clue of what I want to do in my life. Today, my studies are no longer something I do because I have to - I absolutely love learning new things about economics and finance; being able to understand what the heck they are talking about in all those business news channels feels pretty great as well. I'm even thankful for not being able to move to NYC this winter because it wouldn't have been wise if I did. I still don't know if I will be able to get into Student Ambassador Program, which will let me study free of charge for the next two semesters, but even if I don't I am much better off finishing my current college and moving on after that than quitting in the mid-way and starting all over in New York.

There are still a few things that I want to accomplish before the end of the year, but even though the past eleven months were not the most exciting ones, they have certainly been an improvement over the previous year, which is another thing to be thankful for.
Рубрики:  Life across the ocean
Метки:  

Amour_a_Saint-Pete   обратиться по имени Пятница, 27 Ноября 2009 г. 05:24 (ссылка)
Im surprised no one has invited you over to their Thanksgiving dinner, but don't feel bad because you did not gain the three extra pounds after indulging yourself in everything usually served on Thanksgiving. While our Canadian Thanksgiving was last month because we are higher up north and the harvest is gathered earlier in Canada, at least the American Thanksgiving being in November probably holds off crazy Christmas decorations and Christmas marketing which tend to start way too early in North America.
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
CrimeanGurl   обратиться по имени Пятница, 27 Ноября 2009 г. 05:55 (ссылка)
Amour_a_Saint-Pete, I was invited but didn't go...I figured that seeing other people surrounded by their family wouldn't make this holiday any more fun...(( I did, however, manage to gain at least a pound...lol...because, having nothing else to do, I have been indulging myself in a bucket of ice cream all day long :)))
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
observations   обратиться по имени Пятница, 27 Ноября 2009 г. 07:17 (ссылка)
This holiday, which is traditionally accompanied by mass murdering of poor turkeys, a very obsessive consumption of various fattening delights -- such as stuffing, gravy, cranberry sauce -- and family get-togethers, is no more than just another reminder of how far away my own family is.*
Oh..i wouldn't say any better! Same feellings embrace me every year during this long Holliday season from the end of November-till the end of December.And having my family being so far away for years don't make it any better.))
I hope everything you put efforts for and what you have in mind will become reality and very soon. I really and sincerelly wish you the best in USA.
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
Iron-Orchid   обратиться по имени Пятница, 27 Ноября 2009 г. 08:49 (ссылка)
MiaGellar, I like turkey day and particularly love the fact that I don't have to either cook or clean, but instead, I get to dress up and drive over to my friend's house :)
Don't eat ice-cream alone, darling, it's depressing! I hope you'll be in a better mood next year and will get some fun out of the holiday season. As your fellow immigrant I know what you're going through, but nothing is set in stone and perhaps next year you'll change your mind about this little family feast day.

Gobble, gobble! :)
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
Feyona_T   обратиться по имени Пятница, 27 Ноября 2009 г. 11:22 (ссылка)
Маш, знаешь, у меня сегодня такие же самые чувства были, именно насчет того что этот день является напоминанием что моя семья далеко. Лежала почти весь день в своей комнате, только однажды спустилась покушать, когда меня позвали, и то, когда спускалась по лестнице, слышала как хост-мамаша шипела хосту: "Это семейный праздник, нам не нужны strangers за столом! Если она сядет, я уйду!" (и это я в семье 2,5 месяца). Я быстро съела завтрако-ланч и меня выпихали из-за стола. Вобщем атмосферу Сенксгивинга я прочувствовала по полной. С ужасом ожидаю Christmas...

А ты не кисни, всё у тебя скоро будет, с твоей целеустремлённостью. К стати, Крис тебя за неё хвалил.
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
Вита_Ника   обратиться по имени Пятница, 27 Ноября 2009 г. 17:58 (ссылка)
ООО, рыба, ты не одна такая. Мой "праздик" прошел на кровати, с сушами и Lost, просмотрела весь первый сезон. Это не мой праздник, так что я не переживаю
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
telegraph_ave   обратиться по имени Понедельник, 30 Ноября 2009 г. 06:01 (ссылка)

Ответ на комментарий Feyona_T

Помню, когда я еще была опэр и жила в семьях, то тоже этот праздник терпеть не могла-- всегда чувствовала себя одной в чужой стране. В этом году было легче, я его вообще не почувствовала--это ведь вообще не наш праздник. Просто намного легче его игнорировать вдвоем -- в этом плане наличие русского бф очень помогает :)

Feyona_T, а почему ты не хочешь сделать rematch? Сейчас их поменять будет легче чем еще через 2,5 месяца... Ведь невыносимо жить в семье когда такое отношение, да и дети наверное это чувствуют.
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
Feyona_T   обратиться по имени Понедельник, 30 Ноября 2009 г. 06:44 (ссылка)
я хочу сделать SSN на всякий случай и тогда куда-то дёргаться. На самом деле там и дети, вернее старшая не сахар, я таких подлых ещё не видела. Малый нормальный, он ещё дитё. Но всё упирается в этот SSN, я завтра постараюсь сделать. Всё просила хоста отвезти меня, а он: "Take a cab". Прийдётся брать такси, а вобще боюсь рематча потому что ЛЦЦ помогать не хочет, даже зная в каких условиях я нахожусь и у меня минус - нулевой опыт вождения (вернее 30 часов, последния раз с горем пополам ездила в марте). Те кто говорят: "А, забей, в Америке водить легко", наверное чего-то недопонимают, так как с нулевым опытом вождения везде водить тяжело. Пока терплю, потому что тут ещё и бф в штате живёт. Нет гарантии что при рематче мне не поставят ультиматум: либо в Алабаму, либо домой.

Маш, sorry за оффтоп.
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
telegraph_ave   обратиться по имени Понедельник, 30 Ноября 2009 г. 07:36 (ссылка)

Ответ на комментарий Feyona_T

Feyona_T, хост гад, конечно. А бф может подвезти? Автобус?я не буду говорить "забей", потому что сама была в похожей ситуации с таким же опытом, и тоже очень переживала по поводу вождения; и не буду говорить что ты обязательно найдешь себе семью, потому что сама хотела делать рематч однажды, но терпела из за тех же причин. Но у меня была более нормальная ситуация с семьей и детьми в целом.
Гарантии никогда нет. Просто, Юля, я думаю что тебе будет очень сложно терпеть еще 10 месяцев... Ты пробовала сама поискать семью? Знаю, сейчас не густо, но попробовать можно. Плюс, если твоя хост мамашка сама надумает тебе напакостить и подаст на rematch первая?

Маша, сорри за офтоп тоже :)
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
Snow_zaika   обратиться по имени Воскресенье, 06 Декабря 2009 г. 06:34 (ссылка)
That sounds really sad.
Ответить С цитатой В цитатник
Комментировать К дневнику Страницы: [1] [Новые]
 

Добавить комментарий:
Текст комментария: смайлики

Проверка орфографии: (найти ошибки)

Прикрепить картинку:

 Переводить URL в ссылку
 Подписаться на комментарии
 Подписать картинку