-Рубрики

 -Приложения

  • Перейти к приложению Дешевые авиабилеты Дешевые авиабилетыВыгодные цены, удобный поиск, без комиссии, 24 часа. Бронируй сейчас – плати потом!
  • Перейти к приложению Я - фотограф Я - фотографПлагин для публикации фотографий в дневнике пользователя. Минимальные системные требования: Internet Explorer 6, Fire Fox 1.5, Opera 9.5, Safari 3.1.1 со включенным JavaScript. Возможно это будет рабо
  • Перейти к приложению Открытки ОткрыткиПерерожденный каталог открыток на все случаи жизни
  • Настольные игры онлайнМы предлагаем Вам сразиться в любимые настольные игры со своими друзьями, не отходя от компьютера. У нас вы сможете поиграть в дурака, преферанс, тысячу, нарды, шахматы, шашки, крестики-нолики, точки,

 -Поиск по дневнику

Поиск сообщений в M_A_G_D_A

 -Подписка по e-mail

 

 -Статистика

Статистика LiveInternet.ru: показано количество хитов и посетителей
Создан: 13.01.2010
Записей:
Комментариев:
Написано: 4255


lamp from rope+plastic tubes

Среда, 02 Мая 2012 г. 01:20 + в цитатник

 

 
 
This is what I used to make it.
An old $20 light fixture from H for H.  3 hula hoops from Big Lots( total $9.)  The hula hoops at Big Lots came in three sizes.  I chose the medium sized ones.  They are about about 27"-28" in diameter?  I used a total of 4 rolls of 50' x 3/8" rope from Big Lots (total $16).  I didn't know how much rope I needed, so I bought 6 rolls.  I can take back the two extras or save them for another project.  A can of black spray paint that I already had.  Duct tape that I already had. 
   


First I took the light fixture apart, I only need the guts for this project.  I'll save the glass for another project.  I drilled a hole in one of the hula hoops and threaded the top of the chandelier through the hole and screwed the loop on to secure the end.


Next I duct taped the other two hula hoops to the drilled hoop.  I had to play around with this step to get the proportions right.  It helps if you can hang the chandelier up and step back to check it out from all sides.


Next I spray painted the whole thing black.  I kind of liked it like this and probably will make anther light using the hula hoops without the rope.  I would have to do a neater tape job or hot glue the hoops for a cleaner look.


Next I started wrapping the hoops with the jute rope.
Once I hung it up in the room, I realized I needed to adjusting the hoops to make it look more symmetrical.   The tape pulled the paint off, but it doesn't matter, the rope will cover it up.


I burned my fingers so I had to tape them up with athletic tape for the rest of the project. 
 I have some nice blisters today.


The rope part of the project is very time consuming. 
Wrap and glue, wrap and glue.  
I cut the rope into manageable 6' sections and watched Nate Berkus to pass the time.


I cut the rope into smaller pieces and glued it into any holes I missed.


Do you think I should cover the candle stems?  
I didn't because they are skinny and close together and my fingers needed a break.
Yes, I have a lazy streak.
I predict more burned fingers if I cover the stems.

I can't show you any pictures of my chandelier lit up yet until the electrician comes back to add a J box to the center of the room.  He has been ill and I'm not sure when he will be able to come over?  
Adding the J box is beyond my electrical capabilities. 


 Anythingology.com

Серия сообщений "Pipes & Tubes":
Часть 1 - DIY Bracelet
Часть 2 - Lamp out of PVC pipes
...
Часть 19 - mirror
Часть 20 - amazing bookshleves
Часть 21 - lamp from rope+plastic tubes
Часть 22 - glitter mirror
Часть 23 - lamp from tubes
...
Часть 28 - box
Часть 29 - breakfast table
Часть 30 - wall art

Рубрики:  LIGHT/Chandelier
RECYCLE/Thread, Rope & Wire
Метки:  

Процитировано 2 раз

 

Добавить комментарий:
Текст комментария: смайлики

Проверка орфографии: (найти ошибки)

Прикрепить картинку:

 Переводить URL в ссылку
 Подписаться на комментарии
 Подписать картинку